Seder Chileno

Yesterday evening was very special; I attended my first Seder – a traditional Jewish feast that marks the beginning of Passover. My friend Matt’s host parents are Jewish, and they kindly hosted a substantial group of CIEE students (some Jewish, some not) to have the meal in their home. I arrived a bit late, right when everyone was sitting down to begin, but before I took my place at the table I decided to make a quick trip to the bathroom. As I was drying my hands, I heard a crunch and upon looking down, saw a piece of matzah drop out of the hand towel. A bit confused, I grabbed the matzah, strolled back into the dining room, held it up for everyone to see, and explained my curious situation. The table burst into laughter, for apparently, right before I had arrived, they had explained the concept of an afikoman, where the oldest person at the Seder hides a piece of matzah and then, at a designated time, everyone goes searching for it. The first one to find it gets a prize. I, however, had happened upon it just moments after it was hidden, not during the designated searching period, so Jeff, the oldest, slunk off to hide the matzah…again.

Hence, my night started off with laughter, and it just kept pouring in. It was such a joyous night, filled with great (homemade) food…

…light painting…

…sing-a-longs…

…and lovely friends…

I even ended up finding the afikoman the second time around, as well! My prize? A dramatic poetry reading by my friend Jeff, who had hidden the matzah. Beginner’s luck, I suppose!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seder Chileno

  1. Liesel says:

    That sounds like so much fun! I’m so glad that you’re continuing to have a blast in Chile. You are so wonderful! I love you!!

  2. Grandma Jean says:

    Aah, my granddaughter – the great matzah ball hunter! Arf Arf

  3. Evan Beals says:

    Suffering never tasted so good.

Leave a Reply

